WorkSafe Victoria Awards winners recognised

The winners of the annual WorkSafe Awards have been announced in a ceremony at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

More than 500 employers, workers and safety industry stakeholders from across Victoria witnessed on Thursday as 11 winners were honoured during the night.

Thirty-five finalists were recognised in the Awards, now in their 24th year.

Speaking at the event, Assistant Treasurer Gordon Rich-Phillips said the awards recognised the contribution of organisations and individuals in workplace health, safety and return to work.

“Victorian workplaces are the safest they have ever been and we continue to see the rate of workplace injuries trending downwards,” he said.

“Too many Victorians are still being injured at work. The safety solutions, programs and achievements showcased today highlight what can be achieved when hazards and problems are identified, and people work together to achieve a successful and safe resolution.”

WorkSafe’s Acting Chief Executive Ian Forsyth congratulated the winners of the Awards.

“These individuals and businesses highlight the importance and benefits of making health, safety and return to work a priority in the workplace,” said Mr Forsyth.

“They have shown, through their actions and ideas, that it’s possible to do more. They had the foresight to recognise this potential – and the determination to put their ideas into practice.”

He said the results reflected leadership, hard work and commitment of workers, health and safety representatives, return to work practitioners, supervisors and employers right across the state.

Entrants who did not reach the finalist stage are recognised through the Awards website.

WorkSafe Victoria Awards winners:

Health and safety

Health and Safety Representative of the Year
This award acknowledges Health and Safety Representatives (HSRs) who have made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to OHS within their designated workgroups.

Harold Roeding – Department of Primary Industries

Health and Safety Committee of the Year
This award acknowledges the roles and functions of health and safety committees (HSCs) and recognises performance and achievements that demonstrate high level consultation and commitment to health and safety across the entire workplace.

Department of Primary Industries – Mildura

Best Solution to a Workplace Health and Safety Issue
This award recognises excellence in developing and implementing a solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue.

Preventing Musculoskeletal Injuries (for an innovation, invention or initiative that eliminates or significantly reduces the risk of musculoskeletal injuries)

Metropolitan Fire & Emergency Services Board – Richmond

Goodstart Early Learning – Locations across the state

Preventing Health and Safety Risk (for an innovation, invention or initiative that eliminates or considerably reduces a significant risk in a workplace)

SafePanel Pty Ltd – Parkdale

Health and wellbeing

Commitment to Workplace Health and Wellbeing
This award recognises leadership that demonstrates a whole-of-organisation commitment to promoting health and wellbeing at work.

Parmalat Australia Limited – Rowville

Return to work

Employer Excellence
This award recognises, at an organisational level, an employer’s outstanding efforts to support the return to work of an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Confoil Pty Ltd – Bayswater

Vic Freight Xpress – Tullamarine (Honourable mention)

Occupational Rehabilitation Consultant Achievement
This award recognises an occupational rehabilitation consultant’s (from an approved provider) outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Peter Murphy – Nabenet – Hawthorn

Return to Work Coordinator Excellence
This award recognises an individual Return to Work Coordinator’s outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Libby McLean – Form 700 – Altona North

Treating Health Practitioner Achievement
This award recognises a treating health practitioner’s outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Nick Economos – Empower Rehab – Heidelberg Heights

Worker Return to Work Achievement Award

This award recognises a worker’s outstanding achievements in returning to work following a workplace injury.

Grant McKinna – GEA Westfalia Separators Australia Pty Ltd – Thomastown


WorkSafe is now accepting entries for the WorkSafe Awards 2013.


OHS News

Written by

Safety Culture’s mission is to make Safety a way of life in the workplace. We aim to do this by creating simple and useable systems that will be used by workers. As one of Australia’s leading providers of Occupational Health and Safety services, SafetyCulture works with over 9000 clients across Australia and abroad and delivers Audit Forms, Online OHS Inductions, Safe Work Method Statements and OHS Systems every day through our network of qualified OHS Consultants. From the most basic OHS Systems for small business operators through to corporate branded Induction Platforms, SafetyCulture is committed to making safety – a way of life™. For more information feel free to call one of our friendly staff on 1300 306 604.