WorkSafe Victoria Awards 2012 Finalists Publicised

The full list of finalists in the 24th annual WorkSafe Victoria Awards have been released in a year that see a record number of entrants, 286 from all different parts of Victoria which is a 62% increase from last year.

The acting chief executive for WorkSafe, Ian Forsyth, said that the increase interest in the Awards confirms that Victorian employers and workers feel that creating safe workplaces and supporting injured workers is important.

He said that, “Each of the finalists has shown innovation, commitment, ability to solve problems and leadership. Through their efforts, they are not only improving the health and safety of their colleagues, but helping make Victoria a safer state in which to work.”

The Awards winners will be announced at the Awards presentation on November 1st.

Winners will be announced at an awards presentation on 1 November, during Work Safe Week.

The Awards finalists are:

Health and safety

Best solution to a workplace health and safety issue

SafePanel Pty Ltd – Parkdale

Equipment Safety Systems Pty Ltd – Seaford

Swire Cold Storage Pty Ltd – Clayton

Water Resources Alliance – Werribee

Rotolift Pty Ltd – Bayswater

Leighton Contractors Pty Limited – Melbourne

Metropolitan Fire & Emergency Services Board – Richmond

Eagle Alternatives Pty Ltd – Shelbourne

goodstart early learning – Locations across the state

Health and safety committee of the year

Glen Eira City Council – Caulfield

Tyco Water Pty Ltd – Wang Components – Wangaratta

Department of Primary Industries – Mildura

Health and safety representative of the year

Bryan Woollard – Galvin Park Secondary College – Werribee

Shane Gardner – Wilson Transformer Company – Wodonga

Harold Roeding – Department of Primary Industries

Joe Gregory – Thiess – Wonthaggi

Niung Lay – Jetstar Airways Pty Ltd – Tullamarine

Health and wellbeing

Commitment to workplace health and wellbeing

Glen Eira City Council – Caulfield

The Burbank Group – Altona

Parmalat Australia Limited – Rowville

Return to work

Employer excellence

Confoil Pty Ltd – Bayswater

Vic Freight Xpress – Tullamarine

BlueScope Steel Limited – Clayton South

Wyndham City – Werribee

Occupational rehabilitation consultant achievement

Peter Murphy – Nabenet – Hawthorn

Warren Penny – The Recovre Group – Geelong

Return to work coordinator excellence

Stephen Dowling – Baptcare – Camberwell

Libby McLean – Form 700 – Altona North

Phil Rice – InterContinental Hotels Group – Melbourne

Treating health practitioner achievement

Dr Shaun Salimi – Northern Industrial Clinic – Epping

Nick Economos – Empower Rehab – Heidelberg Heights

Worker return to work achievement award

Geoff Jessop – BlueScope Steel Limited – Victoria Park

Grant McKinna – GEA Westfalia Separators Australia Pty Ltd – Thomastown

Gino DiGiorgio – Tenix Australia Pty Ltd – Laverton

Travis Byrne – Toll Holdings – Altona North

If you would like more information on the Awards or to see the entries of these finalists see the WorkSafe Awards website.

OHS News

Written by

Safety Culture’s mission is to make Safety a way of life in the workplace. We aim to do this by creating simple and useable systems that will be used by workers. As one of Australia’s leading providers of Occupational Health and Safety services, SafetyCulture works with over 9000 clients across Australia and abroad and delivers Audit Forms, Online OHS Inductions, Safe Work Method Statements and OHS Systems every day through our network of qualified OHS Consultants. From the most basic OHS Systems for small business operators through to corporate branded Induction Platforms, SafetyCulture is committed to making safety – a way of life™. For more information feel free to call one of our friendly staff on 1300 306 604.